And Your Next American Idol Is … David

22 May

COOK!!!!

I’m so glad my prediction on this one was wrong. I love David Cook! And he was such a humble winner. I love that his audition was happenstance, and not something that he sought out. It’s so perfect. I just hope that the AI machine doesn’t stifle his creativity on his first album. That would be awful. At least the AI finale song wasn’t that bad this year. That’s a plus for him. Way to go, David. I hope it all works out for you. And I hope you bring your little brother along with you. He is the reason you are where you are.

As for David Archuleta, he’s a nice, cute kid. I had kind of wanted him to win just so his dad wouldn’t disown him or something. I hope things work out for him too and that he does find some independence. He’ll be 18 soon, right? However, I don’t think we’ve heard the last of Jeff Archuleta. You just wait.

On tonight’s finale:

I quite enjoyed that they brought back the So You Think You Can Dance dancers tonight. I LOVE that show. I also quite enjoyed that we finally got to hear the two Davids sing together, side by side. During the performance of “Hero,” it is obvious that DC is the better singer. Next to him, Archuleta sounds a bit boring, a little generic, and somewhat immature.

I was quite annoyed with the Love Guru trailer/commercial/”comedy” skit. They took this one a little too far. However, despite it’s annoying-ness, parts of it were a little funny. Little Archuleta looked so uncomfortable during the whole skit.

I love that they bring back all the contestants in the finale. I like to see if any of them get better after the pressure is off. Jason Castro was much better. “Hallelujah” reminded me of why I liked this kid in the first place. I also very much loved Syesha and Seal. Don’t we all sometimes wish we were Heidi Klum? He outshone her by a mile, of course, but she looked AMAZING. Carly shined during the girls group performance (loved the red dresses, even Paula wore hers).

Random Notes:

  • Ryan asking if Archuleta had his driver’s license after giving the Davids new Ford hybrids = classic.
  • Micheal Johns + Carly Smithson = Hot!
  • I want a red dress. I love red.
  • The Cowell comment montage was too great.
  • Chikeze rocked “Summer of ’69.”
  • David Hernandez’s tight black shirt outfit seemed more appropriate for his former job than the AI finale.
  • An American Idol theme park attraction – WTF!? Will you go?
  • David Cook rocking out with ZZ Top = awesome.
  • I don’t quite get Jonas mania. But I’m sure my mom didn’t get NKOTB mania, either.
  • Let My People Gooooooo!
  • “I am your brother. Your best friend forever. Singing the songs, the music that you love. We’re brothers ’til the end of time. Together or not, you’re always in my heart.” I would be willing to bet that this guy ends up actually making money off of this song. Remember William Hung?
  • Wow! Simon admitted that he was wrong and even apologized to Mr. Cook. Wow!

My predictions for the future:

  • Carly Smithson will get another record deal. She may or may not make something out of it.
  • Amanda Overmyer will perform on the bar circuit and may be coming to a college bar near you.
  • David Hernandez has Royal Caribbean Cruises in his future.
  • Syesha – Broadway, of course.
  • Brooke will have a bunch of little kids of her own, but she won’t hire a nanny. She will sing them to sleep with cutesy folk songs.
  • Ramiele will star in her own Disney show alongside Danny Noriega. I could also see her playing Mulan at Disney World.
  • Chikezie will end up in gospel music.
  • Micheal Johns will be the Bryan Adams of this generation.
  • Kristy Lee Cook will unfortunately turn AI fame into a country music career.
  • Jason Castro will be singing “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” at a reggae festival near you.
  • David Archuleta: He will finally (hopefully) get out from under his father’s thumb after being offered a record deal by the American Idol people. They are not going to let this kid slip through their greedy little fingers that easily. Let’s just hope we don’t see a reprise of From Justin to Kelly, renamed as David Squared. For his sake, let’s hope that Daddy Jeff doesn’t take this loss too badly and take it out on poor little Archuleta. That would be tragic.

3 Responses to “And Your Next American Idol Is … David”

  1. Lori Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 9:45 am #

    SOOOOO glad we were wrong. I am still smiling! I love David Cook!!!

  2. laura Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 11:51 am #

    Gosh, I know … so glad. David is obviously the most talented, but I just knew the ‘tweens would be texting for Archuleta until their skinny little fingers fell off.

  3. laura Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 11:52 am #

    Oh, and I was surprised that he won by so much, as well. The vote wasn’t that close. Clay and Reuben had a much closer finish.

Leave a comment