I Am from Venus, My Husband Is from Caprica: An Argument Over ‘How I Could Just Kill a Man’

29 Aug

The other day, I came home from the gym and my husband was downloading music to his iPhone.  He had his headphones on, and I could barely make out the lyrics.  The song: “How I Could Just Kill a Man.”  Here is the conversation that followed:

Me: (semi singing/rapping, most likely bustin’ some Luda moves) Here is something you can’t understand, how I could just kill a man. Is that what you’re listening to?

Husband: Yeah, you know that song? (obviously surprised, maybe even shocked)

Me: Holla!  Ice Cube.  Of course I know that song.  Do you not know me at all?  (The song is actually sung by Cypress Hill, but Ice Cube is in the video.)

Husband: (with a totally puzzled look on his face) No, baby.  Rage sings that song.  You know, Rage Against the Machine … the rock group.

Me: Sweetie, that’s a rap song.  You know, thug life.  How else would I know the lyrics?

At this point, a small argument ensued over who originally recorded the song (duh, Cypress Hill) and who covered it.  Wikipedia gave us our answer, but offered no help in in resolving the conflict that arises from the fact that my husband and I are not only from two different planets, but two different solar systems.

Heck, I’m not even sure if we live in the same dimension.

4 Responses to “I Am from Venus, My Husband Is from Caprica: An Argument Over ‘How I Could Just Kill a Man’”

  1. Tim Monday, September 1, 2008 at 11:00 pm #

    That’s funny! 1.) That you know so much about rap music. 2.) That music would should you the obvious. I think it is so amazing the crazy ways we communicate as spouses and in funny little weird moments like the above, we truly begin to understand our spouse on a greater and even new dimension.

    We may never know the depth of our spouse in this journey of life but it is great learning along the way. May God bless you in your journey!

  2. laurajeanette Tuesday, September 2, 2008 at 3:23 pm #

    Glad I could make you laugh. Maybe I should have titled the post “My husband is middle class and I am so ghetto.”

    Thanks for the encouragement.

  3. E Wednesday, October 8, 2008 at 9:22 pm #

    My boyfriend was born and raised in Chicago, listening mostly to industrial and punk (i.e. Ministry and Skinny Puppy) and I grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area and SoCal, with a lot of West Coast “gangsta rap” providing the soundtrack to my angst-filled teen years, so, I know what you mean sometimes. Fo’ sho.

  4. laurajeanette Thursday, October 9, 2008 at 8:31 am #

    @E: Ha. I’m from Mississippi, The Dirty South, where it’s country and rap – weird combination.

Leave a Reply

