On Divorce

16 Jun

From my most recent interview, I found this statement from Sylvia (opera singer, cancer survivor) really interesting, especially considering that about half of all marriages end in divorce. Maybe it will give people one more reason to stop and think before deciding to end their marriages:

I remember hearing Lance Armstrong give an interview to Charlie Rose on PBS. Armstrong said his cancer was so much easier than his divorce. Writer/satirist/comedian Robert Schimmel (Cancer on $5 a Day) has written the same thing. When I’ve heard those guys say it, somehow it has lightened my burden. So I’m adding my name to that list saying, “If you’re going through divorce, know that you are doing the toughest thing any human ever has to do.” Divorce is so difficult. Cancer is too, but with cancer everyone surrounds you with love and support. With divorce, so many people – at a loss for what to say and do – run for cover. Piled on top of overwhelming grief, you then also lose many of your friends. I’ve never felt so alone and lost as when I was going through divorce. With cancer, I had an ARMY of people to help!

Wow. To me, that’s pretty profound, especially with the way divorce is often portrayed in this country – as the punchline to a joke, as “the best thing I could have ever done for myself,” as a solution for the problem of what to do when you meet your soul mate after you’re already married (there’s a book on this one) … you get the point.

One Response to “On Divorce”

  1. autism custody battles Wednesday, September 1, 2010 at 9:04 am #

    Men who threaten to take away the kids are engaging in post separation violence. It is common for batterers to threaten to take children away from the battered woman by proving her to be an unfit mother. For this reason, some lawyers advise women not to tell courts or mediators about child abuse or domestic abuse because, by doing so, they risk losing custody to the alleged abuser!

Leave a Reply

