American Idol, the Musical

22 Apr

Today is Earth Day, and American Idol is commemorating it by doing its part for the environment and using green power … four weeks from now at the AI Finale, a plan that Ryan Seacrest apparently “just learned.” It makes me wonder if the producers were too caught up in finding even more ways to promote American Idol (like having Paula Abdul visit the set of Dancing with the Stars last night) that they didn’t realize what day it was. I’m guessing they watched Oprah or some other “Let’s all go green” show and thought to themselves, “Oh no, it’s Earth Day and everybody else has gone green. What are we going to do?” and then had a brainstorming meeting to try and come up with something at the last minute, something that didn’t take attention away from the upcoming Finale, of course.

Tonight’s theme is the music of Andrew Lloyd Webber. If only Danny Noriega and that kid that looks like Ellen were still around for this week. I have a feeling that tonight would have been their night to shine. Sigh. I love musicals. Andrew Lloyd Webber is an icon. Randy predicts that tonight “is going to be the toughest night of the season.”

Syesha, “One Rock and Roll Too Many”: I think Syesha may have found her niche – musical theater. It combines her two admitted talents, acting and singing. This was her best performance ever, and she looked like she was having fun. LOVED IT! She should say goodbye to American Idol (they are too hard on her) and hello to Broadway. And she should wear that dress all the time.

Jason Castro, “Memory”: How could Mr. Castro not know that this song is from Cats? Kids these days are not exposed to enough culture. It was sweet, sensitive, a little odd, typical Jason Castro, except not. I love what Simon said about the performance: “It came over as a young guy being forced by your mum and dad to sing a song at a wedding you didn’t want to sing.” Yeah, JC does come across as someone who would rather be sitting on a beach with a little reefer and a ukulele than singing a Broadway classic that is traditionally sung by a feline.

Brooke White, “You Must Love Me”: Once again, Brooke has to start the song over. What is up with her and starting over? Doesn’t she know that this is a live show? If this really was Broadway, she’d just have to suck it up and keep singing. The show must go on, kid. I didn’t like the faces she was making during the song. It seemed odd and contrived for Sunny Brooke to try to be act all sad and stuff. I usually like Brooke, but I didn’t like this one. Paula’s advice: “You must never start and stop … You’re strong enough as an artist to pick up the pieces.” Simon’s rebuttal: “I would have done exactly what she did. You know, if she’s forgotten the words … I thought it was actually a very brave thing to do. It’s your opportunity, why not?” I don’t know who I agree with on this issue. They both make valid points. What do you think?

David Archuleta, “Think of Me”: Little Archuleta should definitely take Lloyd Webber’s two pieces of advice: “Open you eyes,” and “Open your eyes.” Do you think he should have also thrown in “enough with the lip licking thing already”? I love that Lloyd Webber called him “Little David,” as I have an affinity for calling him “little Archuleta.” And it looks like Little David is taking a cue from Big David (aka David Cook) and doing his own little arrangement of a song. It worked for him, even though he did have a little noticeable trouble keeping those eyes open. And like he’s been saying all season, Randy says once again, “This boy’s the one to beat!” Paula says that it was “absolutely perfect.” Simon thought it was one of his weakest performances. For me, it was good, but the same old, same old David Archuleta.

Carly Smithson, “Jesus Christ Superstar”: I think she may come to regret taking Lloyd Webber’s advice on choosing this song. Some people still have objections to the rock opera. Others couldn’t care less. Either way, she sang it pretty well. Not my favorite from her, but it was big and powerful. On another note I love the “SIMON LOVES ME (this week)” shirt. And it appears as if Simon likes it too.

David Cook, “Music of the Night”: Beautiful, absolutely beautiful. DC showed a new side of himself tonight, and I LOVED it. Hands down, the best of the night. There is no question about it. I even listened to it twice. He proved that not only is he a rocker, he is also a true vocalist. Simon disagrees with me. He says, “This is not the side of you I like. I much prefer the grittier, more raw …” Simon is obviously not a woman. Don’t we all like the “bad boy with a sensitive side” type? I for one (and I think a lot women out there would agree with me) like all sides of David Cook. He is my American Idol (this season anyway).

Best of the night: David Cook

Distant second: Syesha

Worst of the Night: Brooke White

Close second: Jason Castro

Who’s probably going home: Brooke, though I wouldn’t be surprised if it were any of them other than the two Davids, of course.

6 Responses to “American Idol, the Musical”

  1. George Carter Thursday, April 24, 2008 at 11:34 am #

    Great post. I almost agreed with you all the way. Here were my rankings of the performances from Tuesday night:

    1. Syesha
    2. Carly
    3. Big David
    4. Little David
    5. Castro
    6. Brooke

    And I like what you wrote about Syesha. They really are too hard on her. She is my favorite person left on the show. I think David Cook should win, but she is my favorite person.

  2. laura Thursday, April 24, 2008 at 4:35 pm #

    Syesha finally showed some personality last night. Finally. She usually seems tense.

    Oh, and I love your reference to Big David and Little David. That’s too funny.

  3. George Carter Tuesday, April 29, 2008 at 6:24 pm #

    I got it from you!

  4. laura Tuesday, April 29, 2008 at 6:54 pm #

    I know. That’s why I love it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. American Idol: Good Times Never Felt So Good … or American Idol Never Felt So Long and Boring « God, Give Me Hills to Climb - Wednesday, April 30, 2008

    […] to stand out, but I think it may be too little too late. And it seems as if the judges are still pushing her to Broadway. I think she would be great on Broadway. Go for it, girl! It’s worked for other former Idols. […]

  2. American Idol: The Final Three Perform « God, Give Me Hills to Climb - Wednesday, May 14, 2008

    […] of the season, I could see him have a hit single with this song. DC could sing anything, even Andrew Lloyd Webber as he showed us a few weeks ago. I like the way he made it modern. A studio version of this song […]

Leave a Reply

