Notes on American Idol Results: One (Bitter)Sweet Day for Kristy Lee Cook

16 Apr

About the group song, “One Sweet Day”: That’s about the only Mariah song I can picture being sung as a group. I think I would have rather heard “Dreamlover.” The good thing about the group song is that it gets better the more people they kick out. it just me, or did it seem like David Cook and Syesha got less of the spotlight than the other singers? To me, the two that stood out were Jason Castro and Kristy Lee Cook. She does get better and better every time she sings. And she reminds me more and more of LeAnn Rimes every time she sings. This girl just doesn’t quit.

On David Cook: I’m curious as to whether the AI producers have asked him not to talk about his brother so as not to pull attention away from the other contestants. Or maybe he just doesn’t want to come across as trying to play the sympathy card to get votes. Either way, the situation with his brother really hasn’t been mentioned on Idol. Maybe he just wants to keep his private life private. I, for one, think that’s a wise decision. The sudden spotlight must be hard for these kids to deal with.

On Kristy Lee Cook: Even though he performances have been getting better, she still really annoys me, especially on Results night.

On Michael Johns: I miss him, and I wish Ryan would quit reminding me about his “shocking” elimination. It’s sad.

On Ryan calling KLC and DC “the Cooks”: That was stupid.

On Elliott Yamin: I didn’t really like him that much when he was an Idol contestant, but I like him now. “Wait for You” is a good song. Maybe he’s just better on the radio than he is live.

On the American Idol call-in show: Whoever came up with this idea is brilliant because it’s an excellent way to waste time. Paula Abdul’s “Straight Up” was also one of the first albums I ever bought, along with Janet Jackson’s (or Miss Jackson if you’re nasty) “Rhythm Nation.” I really was ten, I think. Moving along, I didn’t know you could have an entire conversation using only the names of Paula Abdul songs. That was impressive.

On adjectives Simon uses: It would be boring if he said the same thing over and over. Using a lot of adjectives is a good thing. It keeps it interesting. Different adjectives that mean the same thing are called synonyms. Using synonyms will keep you from sounding repetitive and boring. To the lady who called in complaining about adjectives, I think you should get a thesaurus. That’s the book that lists all the synonyms. It’s never too late to improve your vocabulary.

On David Cook being single: Wait, I better not comment on that one.

On Mariah Carey’s performance: I would have rather heard “Touch My Body.” And throwing in the nerd from the video would have been a nice added touch. Speaking of Mariah Carey’s body, she looked hot tonight. I wonder if I could afford her personal trainer. Probably not.

On the whole two groups, which one is the top 3 and which one is the bottom 3 thing: I hate the night when they do this. I always feel bad for the contestant who has to pick between the two. They should all be like Melinda Doolittle and just sit down in the middle of the stage and refuse. Poor little Archuleta is the one who has to pick this time. I’m proud of him for not picking a group, even though it was a horrible awkward moment for him. Why do they always make the nicest contestant do this? It’s so cruel.

On Carly not sitting down on the stage with the other contestants: Thanks for not pulling a Britney Spears and flashing America. Most of us appreciate that. It’s a family show, after all.

On the bottom three (Brooke, KLC, Syesha): I’m not surprised. Props to Brooke for handling it so well and being supportive of KLC.

On Kristy Lee going home: It should have happened a long time ago, but she managed to stick around. She was working on borrowed Idol time, even though she did get better every week. It’s hard to make up an Idol vote deficit. People pick their favorites in the beginning and usually stick with them no matter how poorly they do or how well someone else does.

The good thing for KLC is that if Bucky Covington got a country music record deal out of Idol, she should have no problem with it. I like that she sang her goodbye song to Simon. That was cute. And she sounded good doing it. He, however, looked a little creeped out by it at first. Props to Kristy for going out on a good note.

To the guy who bought KLC’s horse: Let her buy it back. You won’t lose anything by it. Besides, you don’t want American to hate you, now do you?

Related:

AI = MC Squared

Some David Cook Love from Perez Hilton

3 Responses to “Notes on American Idol Results: One (Bitter)Sweet Day for Kristy Lee Cook”

  1. George Carter Thursday, April 17, 2008 at 5:47 am #

    Last night’s results have now set everything into motion. Third through sixth place could shake out any way and it would not be a surprise. And it really doesn’t matter because this is a two-person race and they all know it. We just have to wait four weeks before the Davids finale. I can’t foresee any situation in which it’s not David and David in the finale.

    I agree with you on Kristy Lee Cook. She is annoying, and I have never really liked her personality. And she definitely was working on borrowed Idol time, but she really made the most of it and has now set herself up to be a successful country artist. And yes, the serenade of Simon was funny. She should have stayed there the whole time.

    OK, have a good day!

  2. laura Thursday, April 17, 2008 at 8:44 am #

    I concur. The only thing I can see keeping DC out of the finale is if his brother’s condition worsens. I do believe he would walk away from Idol if that happened. He seems like the type of person who would put his family before his career. I like that about him.

  3. Louise7 Monday, January 12, 2009 at 9:52 am #

    That you for letting us post about our favorite singer. Without this site, it would be really difficult to share the latest news about them.

    FREE SONG FROM AMERICAN IDOL’S MELINDA DOOLITTLE! GO TO http://www.melindadoolittle.com and get it NOW – FREE! New album released on February 3, 2009! Don’t miss it!

Leave a Reply

