More Hip Action, Please

15 Apr

I was watching Dancing with the Stars last night (yes, I know I’m a reality TV junkie), and I heard a conversation that kind of disturbed me. Shannon Elizabeth, whom I really like on the show, danced the samba, and it wasn’t that great. Contrary to what you would think, Shannon is not good at the “sexy” Latin dances at all; however, she is really good at the elegant ballroom numbers. I digress. Her samba was not good, and she received critique from the judges for a lack of hip action. Len wanted a little more hip action, please.

During the backstage interview with the dreadful co-host/E! correspondent Samantha Harris, the following conversation took place (not a direct quote, only an approximation):

Shannon Elizabeth, in an attempt to explain her lack of hip action: My problem is that i have no hips. My hips and my waist are the same size.

Samantha Harris, in response: Well, I bet there are tons of women in America who would love to have that problem.

Really? Are there really millions of American women who want to have the figure of a 12-year-old boy? (Not that Shannon Elizabeth looks like a 12-year-old boy. I’m only commenting on Samantha’s remarks, not Shannon’s figure.) I’m sure there are some women out there who aspire to that “ideal,” but that is most likely because people like Samantha Harris tell us that’s what we should look like.

Dear Samantha, real women have curves, and it’s okay. In fact, it’s quite normal and natural. Please stop trying to make us believe otherwise. What’s not normal and natural is starving yourself to be a size 0 because someone decided that’s the paradigm of female beauty.

Disclaimer: I have no problem with naturally thin women. I only have a problem with people who profess that’s the only way to be.
2 Responses to “More Hip Action, Please”

  1. Susan Tuesday, April 15, 2008 at 12:45 pm #

    OK…so when i first read your quote by Samantha, my mind TOTALLY read it wrong – “tons of women in AFRICA…” – and i was SOOOOO shocked that she would say something like that…thinking how rude, incompassionate and judgmental that she would say that and thinking the press was going to totally slam her for it.

    It wasn’t until the third or fourth time that I read it, that I realized it said America…ha! oops…so, I wasn’t AS offended at that point (in comparison)…but i still agree with your point 🙂

  2. laura Tuesday, April 15, 2008 at 4:30 pm #

    Africa … that’s funny.

    And I think I was offended because to me the conversation came across like this:

    SE: I wish I had a more womanly figure.
    SH: No, you don’t honey. Adult women who look like pre-pubescent girls are all the rage right now. You should jump on the bandwagon like everyone else.

    It’s the subtlety of it all that really bothers me. Things like that happen all the time.

Leave a Reply

