AI = MC Squared

15 Apr

Mariah Carey is the American Idol mentor tonight. First off, I just want to say that I LOVE Mariah Carey. I thought she was cute when she introduced herself to the American Idol contestants like this: “I feel weird about about the whole, like ‘judging’ people in general, so just look at me like whatever, that’s my friend that I met who sings for a living and writes songs occasionally.” Who knows if she meant that; she does have a diva reputation.

Before the contestants take the stage to sing, Ryan does bring up a good point about tonight’s song selection. “It’s interesting tonight,” he says to Randy,”because the judges, you often caution the performers when they sing superstar songs like Whitney songs and Mariah songs because you don’t want to be compared to them when you’re the singer. How do you judge tonight, Mr. Jackson?” I will be interested to see how they do judge the contestants. One thing I do know is that tonight is going to be TOUGH. Here’s a little recap.

David Archuleta, “When You Believe”: Of course little Archuleta would choose an inspirational ballad. At least it wasn’t “Hero.” That would have been too cliche. Simon says that he “would have bet a million dollars on [David] choosing that song in advance.” It was typical Archuleta. The judges loved it, the little girls in the audience loved it, and of course, America will love it. There’s not much more to say about him that hasn’t already been said.

Carly Smithson, “Without You”: Carly is sad that MJ left the show last week, and so am I. Mariah is a Carly fan, and so am I. Carly thinks Mariah is “a big sunshine ray,” and I’m not so sure about that one. I liked Carly tonight. She wasn’t as good as Mariah, but what American Idol is as good as Mariah? Taking on Mariah is tough. Simon thinks she is capable of pulling off Mariah, but that she didn’t do it tonight. Oh well, maybe she’ll get another chance.

Syesha, “Vanishing”: LOVE the gold dress. She did well, but Syesha doesn’t really stand out in the group to me. Maybe it’s a personality thing. I don’t know. She looked great, though. Look at me being all Paula Abdul.

Brooke White, “Hero”: Why did her sister plan her wedding during American Idol? She’s known for many, many months that Brooke would be doing Idol. Why couldn’t Idol just give her ONE day off so she could go to her sister’s wedding? It’s just one day. It’s no fun to have a sibling absent from you wedding. My littlest brother was in Iraq when I got married. It still makes me sad, and that was almost three years ago. Okay, back to the show. Brooke is taking on one of the worst, imo. MC songs to sing because it’s probably the most well-known and the one that is sung in every high school talent show and every karaoke contest. At least she added the piano to it. I have to give her props for trying to do something a little different with it. There’s not doubt that Brooke has talent, but I didn’t really like this one from her. It was a little boring, and that song is SO overplayed. It’s hard to do Mariah, especially for a singer like Brooke. It’s also hard to carry out a hamburger analogy for 20 minutes, but the judges and Ryan somehow managed to do that when trying to critique Brooke. It left me a little confused. I think Brooke is confused, too.

Kristy Lee Cook, “Forever”: I can’t believe that KLC gave Mariah Carey goosebumps, either. Putting the country spin on “Forever” really worked for her. She may have been the best girl of the night. On another note, is it just me, or does KLC look kind of like (and maybe even sound a little like) LeAnn Rimes tonight? Paula thinks KLC is smart and has everything all worked out in her plans. Let’s just hope KLC’s plans aren’t as diabolical as Simon is. That could be dangerous. I will say that KLC is getting better every week. I actually don’t dislike her anymore.

David Cook, “Always Be My Baby”: Aww, little Rami is in the audience. I still love her. And I was as confused as Mariah when I heard DC’s song choice. But I really liked his version. What can you do as a guy singing Mariah? And there will be no question about whether or not he “stole” this arrangement. It’s all his, and I love it. This proves that DC is a true artist, not just a karaoke competitor. As Simon said, “That was like coming out of karaoke hell into a breath of fresh air.” Major props to DC. The risk payed off, baby. And he was in tears after his performance. I’m so glad his brother was there to see him, and that he was able to see his brother.

Jason Castro, “I Don’t Want to Cry”: LOVED it! This was the second best performance of the night (right behind David Cook, of course). It was different, and SO Jason Castro. And I agree with Simon: “The guys completely won the night.”

Top Two: David Cook and Jason Castro

Bottom Two: All the girls. I know that’s more than two, but they are all on equal par tonight.

Who’s probably going home: That’s a tough one to call. It will be one of the girls. Not sure which one, though. Maybe Carly. She seems to be in the bottom three a lot.

3 Responses to “AI = MC Squared”

  1. George Carter Wednesday, April 16, 2008 at 3:23 am #

    OK Laura, I’m going to be more long-winded than usual. I think I’ve got this season pegged finally. I’m going to comment on tonight and then step back and look at where we are overall. I’d like to see your response when I am finished.

    David Archuleta: I don’t want to write on your behalf, but it seems like you and I are sort of in agreement on him in that he’s not this unbelievable juggernaut who should be handed the trophy right now. Honestly, I really don’t enjoy hearing him sing that much. Tonight was ok but nothing spectacular.

    Carly: I just don’t think Carly is anything special. I didn’t enjoy her tonight at all. Note: I don’t know Mariah’s version of this song. I only know the Air Supply version, which is unbelievable. Carly really struggled in my opinion.

    Syesha: Again Syesha does great and gets only minor praise. It’s like no matter what she does no one will give her a real chance. I love her.

    Brooke: Well, that’s about all she can do. She sings folk-style songs in a low register. She’s the female Jason Castro. We’ve seen everything she is capable of.

    Kristy Lee Cook: Is it just me, or has she gotten ridiculously better over the past month? I thought she was fantastic again tonight! I know we say this a lot about her, but she honestly turned that into a country song and it sounded wonderful! It was so much different than Mariah’s version, so I give her props for originality. I think she’s one of the best four people remaining.

    David Cook: You and the judges said it best. This guy is unreal.

    Castro: I’m not a big fan, but I don’t hate him. Just like Brooke, we’ve seen everything he can do. It won’t win him the competition but he does have plenty of people who like him.

    OK now here is how I see this whole thing playing out (This might be long-winded but just stick with me here):

    I think everyone in America knows who this competition SHOULD come down to, and that is, of course, the two remaining Davids. The problem is that from Day 1, David Archuleta has been the favorite and there really hasn’t been a # 2 person until recently. Remember, David Cook started out very slowly and was even panned repeatedly by Simon for having no charisma (Would we even dare to say that now?). It wasn’t until the third week of the Top 24 that we realized David Cook was capable of being a star. That hurt his chances of winning because at the same time, David Archuleta was shining. I decided weeks ago that David Archuleta would win this competition because his lead was too big for anyone to catch up. It reminds me of Season 2 because during that season, Ruben built up a huge fan base while Clay Aiken was still transforming from a nerd into a “cool person” or whatever. It wasn’t until about the Top 4 or so that people realized he actually had an unbelievable voice and a stage presence that merited votes. Clay is so much better than Ruben, but Ruben’s lead was so big that Clay’s late charge was not enough for him to close the gap all the way. I think that might be what is happening with David Cook. I think that David Cook is clearly the best one in this competition. He is so original and talented and good and everything else. But will he be able to close the gap all the way by the time the season ends? I don’t think he will, but I hope so. He deserves to win.

    As far as the others go…I honestly think Kristy Lee Cook has a chance to finish third. This week’s results will be a big test for that, because if she avoids the bottom three again, this would make two weeks in a row. The reason I think she could finish third is twofold. First, she continues to improve every week. This is two weeks in a row that she has been one of the best. Secondly, she is the only country singer left, and country singers typically do very well in this competition (See: Carrie Underwood, Josh Gracin, Bucky Covington [ who should not have lasted as long as he did], Kellie Pickler). If the country fans are watching and voting, Kristy Lee is clearly the only one who sings that style. I honestly think she deserves third over the likes of Brooke and Jason Castro because Kristy Lee actually does have some range in what she does. Brooke and Jason do the same thing every week. And I know Kristy Lee does country every week, but you really don’t know what it is going to sound like until she sings it, and I find her songs to be very refreshing.

    Besides, who else is going to finish third? It could be any of the other five. They’re all about the same right now.

    Castro could finish third if he continues to get good reviews and his fans keep voting.

    Brooke could get third because everyone seems to like her a lot.

    For Syesha it is unlikely but based on her voice, she should definitely be in the running for third.

    As for Carly, I don’t think she’ll last that long (I think she leaves tonight), but she could get third if she survives tonight and decides to start singing well again.

    So yeah…anything can happen from here to the finale but it would be a monumental shock if it’s not David vs. David. The interesting thing will be to see how far Kristy Lee goes. I think she’s on her way to finally becoming a country artist, and the longer she stays on here, the more it will help her.

    OK, well, now that I’ve wasted half your day, I think I’m done. Take care!

  2. Susan Wednesday, April 16, 2008 at 7:11 am #

    i’m going to take awhile to compose all my thoughts on last night’s show and post later about it on my blog. but for right now, i just wanted to say AMEN to KLC reminding me of LeAnn Rimes last night. ask my husband…i said the very same thing to him while she was belting out the end of that song. 🙂 have a great day!

  3. laura Wednesday, April 16, 2008 at 10:31 pm #

    @ George: My, that was a long comment. I agree with you. I think it’s going to come down to a battle of the two Davids, unless another Chris Daughtry of Jennifer Hudson situation occurs. I also agree with you about making up the deficit. Archuleta will probably win. He has the pre-teen girl vote (and they’ll vote a million times each), the soccer mom vote, and the Mormon vote (probably split with Brooke). As for the third, I think Carly, Brooke, or Jason. They each have their own followings, and I think those are about equal. Syesha just gets lost in the crowd because even though she can sing well, she is a little bland and not all that original or different. There are tons of Syeshas out there. Personally, I hope DC comes in second so he can have more control of his music, maybe even bring his band along with him. It worked for Daughtry.

Leave a Reply

