American Idol: A Pleasant Walk in the Park

8 Apr

Tonight’s theme was “a night of inspiration,” where the contestants sang songs that inspired them. The funny thing is that I didn’t find the night all that inspiring. It was the AI producers way to set the stage for “Idol Gives Back,” which will be on for 5 or so hours tomorrow night in place of the usual Results show. You can’t kick someone off on “Idol Gives Back.” That would kind of dampen the mood, now wouldn’t it? And the Results show will be moved to Thursday night, giving us 3 nights of Idol because 2 is not enough.

Michael Johns, “Dream On” (Aerosmith): It was okay, not his best performance. I hate that he talked back to the judges after it, though. Stop doing that, people!

Syesha Mercado, “I Believe” (Fantasia): I like her better than Fantasia. I was never a Fantasia fan. Fantasia sounds just like Macy Grey, and all the judges ever talked about was how unique her voice was. I didn’t get it. I knew the judges would hate on Syesha for doing a Fantasia song since they are such Fantasia fanatics. I, however, am not going to hate on her. I liked her performance tonight.

Jason Castro, “Somewhere Over the Rainbow”: LOVED IT!!!!! He even played the ukulele (I’m pretty sure that’s what it was). Hands down, my favorite of the night. He’s so cute, and he finally started to not sound so dumb in his pre-performance interview.

Kristy Lee Cook, “Anyway” (Martina McBride): I’ll give her one thing, she has been picking the right songs lately. I’ll admit that I really wanted her to do poorly after her antics on last week’s Results show. However, it was her best performance yet, and I think she’ll be sticking around for another week. Boo, hiss, boo. Kristy Lee, why did you have to do so well tonight (and look so great, too)?

David Cook, “Innocent” (Our Lady Peace): This was a little weird for me. It just didn’t seem like him. I didn’t really like it. He’s still my boy, though. I appreciated the “Give Back” sentiment. He seems to be the only one who really took that to heart in his performance. Props for being humble and NOT talking back to the judges.

Carly Smithson, “Show Must Go On” (Queen): Another weird one for me. The Idols have been loving Queen this season, but I really didn’t like Carly’s performance. I still lover her, though. I was glad that Simon said she looked good after going all Stacy and Clinton on her wardrobe last week. I hope she isn’t the one to go home. It is quite possible that she will be leaving this week, though. Oh, and Carly, don’t look at Simon when you’re singing. It’s a bad, bad idea.

David Archuleta, “Angels”: Going into this, I thought that this would be his week with the inspirational song theme. And it definitely was. He went back to the piano, and I loved it. So did all the little girls in the audience. I think Archuleta is at his best when he’s at the piano. That’s the only time when he really seems comfortable and in his element.

Brooke White, “You’ve Got a Friend”: She sang the song well, but it was a little boring. And I think she should go back to the curly hair. Curly is a better look for her. I agreed with Randy on this one: “I wasn’t jumping up and down, but I wasn’t mad at you either.” I also like what Simon said about her performance: “It was like a pleasant walk in the park.” That it was. I like Brooke, she’s nice … and pleasant … like a walk in the park.

Top Two: Jason Castro and David Archuleta

Bottom Two: Carly Smithson and Michael Johns (two of my usual favorites)

Who’s probably going home: I think it may be Carly. She’s kind of the American Idol “bad girl,” and I don’t think most of the AI voters really go for that. Plus, she really hurt herself with tonight’s performance. I think she tried a little to hard and that the song kind of overpowered her.

Related:

Amercan Idol and the Backwoods Barbie

2 Responses to “American Idol: A Pleasant Walk in the Park”

  1. George Carter Wednesday, April 9, 2008 at 7:31 am #

    I really enjoyed this post. You and I actually saw it the same pretty much the whole way.

    My favorite of the night was Kristy Lee Cook. She was fantastic! And then my next favorite was Syesha. I couldn’t agree with you more on Fantasia. I just don’t get it.

    David Archuleta is really starting to get on my nerves. I don’t think he’s as good as everybody thinks he is. He can only sing one type of song. And that high note he always tries to hit sounds awful.

    I loved Brooke’s hair. She’s precious.

  2. Lori Wednesday, April 9, 2008 at 8:21 am #

    AGREE – AGREE – AGREE! I was very underwhelmed by almost all performances…

    LOVED Jason. Mad at KLC for doing well. Didn’t love David C.’s performance but still love him. I think you are right…. Carly may go home… and that sucks because she has been so much better than KLC up until now.

    Bottom 3 – Carly, KLC and Syesha (or Brooke)

Leave a Reply

