Jack Can Dance

27 Mar

When I got home from work today, I had a few minutes before I had to head out the door to meet my friend Kim for out Thursday run, so I turned on the TV. For some reason, it was on the Government channel. I have no idea what is usually shown on this channel, but today it was a high school talent show. And I LOVE talent shows, especially high school talent shows. It was great.

Well, when I turned on the TV, there wa cute kid, Jack, in an orange t-shirt performing Evolution of Dance. It was GREAT! Apparently, he was the winner of the previously held middle school talent show. The audience LOVED it, and so did I. I could clearly see why he was the winner. It was way better than “regular” TV. And it made me want to check out the government channel more often.

Now, you may be asking, “What is so entertaining about high school talent shows?” Well, I will tell you. I think it’s great to see kids who have yet to become disillusioned by the harsh judgement of the world showcasing their mostly mediocre talents to the applause and adoration of friends and strangers. I love seeing kids have these “moments of glory,” giving them the illusion that they are rock stars, at least for a moment. Those moments before that illusion is shattered are so incredible to watch. Everyone is hopeful, everyone is engaged, and everyone is proud. This is why I love high school (and middle school) talent shows. This and the fact that the kids are crazy and mostly unashamed to make fools of themselves, there are some diamonds in the rough with real talent, and even the not so good ones at least make you smile at their efforts.

3 Responses to “Jack Can Dance”

  1. Lori Monday, March 31, 2008 at 10:59 am #

    Well said, Laura… I was that kid in high school. Now, I hardly ever sing anymore… 🙂

  2. laura Tuesday, April 1, 2008 at 8:52 am #

    Lori, you should sing more. I think a lot of us abandon the passions we had in high school. We’re “responsible adults” now with no time for “all that nonsense,” but it’s kind of sad, really.

  3. Lori Tuesday, April 1, 2008 at 9:47 am #

    🙂

Leave a Reply

