Chikezie Goes Home

26 Mar

Chikezie was voted off tonight.  I called it, though I still wished it would have been Kristy Lee Cook.  Although Chikezie is not the worst singer in the competition this year, I had a feeling he would be the one to go home tonight.  Something was just off with him last night.  I knew “God Bless the USA” would save Kristy, even though she is probably the weakest of the group.  Even though my friend George thinks it’s cheesy, America loves that song.  It is a fact that cannot be denied.  I did not, however, think that America loved that song enough to keep Kristy out of the bottom three.  I was surprised to see Sayesha there instead of her.  Oh well, that’s just the way it goes sometimes.

Things that bugged me about the results show tonight:

  • Carly Smithson compromising her vocal performance by wearing Spanx to make herself look a little thinner.  Carly, you are not fat.  Throw away the Spanx and just sing.
  • Kimberly Locke’s interview video being all about how American Idol is the best thing in world.  Can this show be any more self-indulgent?  Oh, yeah, it can.
  • The “behind the scenes” segment where all the contestants talked about how they couldn’t do this competition without iTunes.  Didn’t they do the first season of American Idol without iTunes?  Kelly Clarkson managed just fine. 

Related:

American Idol: Songs from the Year You Were Born

3 Responses to “Chikezie Goes Home”

  1. Kate Wednesday, March 26, 2008 at 9:20 pm #

    Congrats on a great season Chikieze!! We’re gonna miss you. A group card has been started for Chikieze… stop by and leave a personal message!

    http://www.squidnote.com/c/XL30D4mXXL8

  2. George Carter Thursday, March 27, 2008 at 2:40 am #

    Wow, I got a mention in your blog. Yay!

    Personally, I thought Chikezie was phenomenal on Tuesday night. I thought it was the right song choice, a great performance, and everything else. Apparently I am the only person who thinks this, but I will NEVER back down from that. I honestly believe it was brilliant. But alas, the world has passed me by.

    I can already tell you I’m going to get upset again when Syesha goes home next week or so. This is getting depressing.

    And I really want to punch Michael Johns in the face. I cannot stand him.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bring Back Chikezie « God, Give Me Hills to Climb - Friday, March 28, 2008

    […] Chikezie Goes Home […]

Leave a Reply

