American Idol: Songs from the Year You Were Born

25 Mar

Tonight, the contestants sang songs from the year they were born.  I’m so glad the producers went with this theme instead of jumping on the trilogy bandwagon and producing American Idol Butchers the Beatles III.

Ramiele Malubay, “Alone”:  It was my favorite from her, but not the best of the competition.  I like her, and I want her to do well.  Maybe she’ll stick around longer and surprise us with something fabulous.

Jason Castro, “Fragile”: He should not talk.  He should just sing and look pretty, oh and play the guitar.  When I watch him sing, he reminds me of those people who sit on the sidewalk barefoot and sing folk songs with a guitar case open in front of him.  (I totally typed that before Simon said it on the show.  That’s weird.  I’m beginning to think like Simon.  Oh no!)  I’d throw money in his guitar case if I saw him playing in the subway, though.     

Sayesha Mercado, “If I Were Your Woman”: Enough with the baby cry.  It’s annoying.  She brought it with the song, though.  She gets better every time.  I agree with Randy: “It was blazing hot.”  On a sidenote, is it just me, or does Paula pick a new “dark horse” every week?  First it was Alaina, and we all know what happened there.  I hope it’s not bad luck for Sayesha.

Chikezie, “If Only for One Night”: I was just starting to like Chikezie, but I didn’t really like this one.  Don’t talk back to the judges, Chikezie.  It only works for people like Danny Noriega.  Otherwise, it’s just annoying.  

Brooke White, “Every Breath You Take”:  Her parents are just way too pretty.  I am usually creeped out by this song, but I liked her performance of it.  It was almost good enough to make me forget about the fact that she started out on the wrong key and then had to start over.  She handled it well, though.  Chikezie, take note of how Brooke handles the judges’ criticism.  The only thing annoying about her is that she is almost too perfect.    

Michael Johns, “We Will Rock You/We Are the Champions”: He’s 29.  I’m glad they raised the age limit for this show.  I could have done without “We Will Rock You.”  It was a little cheesy.  I did enjoy “We are the Champions.”  That song reminds me of teen 80s/early 90s movies, and Michael Johns reminds me of an 80s/early 90s teen movie star.  He had all the girls screaming.  Simon saw “star potential,” and I agree.  Hmm, “Bohemian Rhapsody,” and now “We Are the Champions” … maybe MJ should stick to only singing Queen.  And lets just hope, for the sake of all the women in the world, that he’s not gay.  

Carly Smithson, “Total Eclipse of the Heart”: Carly used to look like little orphan Annie, imagine that.  She did a total 180 on that one.  Oh joy, she’s singing “Total Eclipse of the Heart,” another song that creeps me out.  Watch Urban Legend, and it will creep you out, too.  I don’t like this song, but I still love Carly Smithson.  Kudos for not talking back to the judges, but a little TMI for primetime on the bathroom thing.

David Archuleta, “You’re the Voice”: Finally, he talked about something other than singing in the taped piece.  It’s funny though, I really thought the other David would be the one to talk about his dancing experience in the interview segment.  Guess not.  This was not my favorite David Archuleta performance.  The boy can sing, but sometimes it’s a little weird for me … like tonight.  Simon said, “I’d be amazed if you chose the song yourself because it’s not you.”  Could this possibly be a nod to David Archuleta’s overbearing stage dad?

Kristy Lee Cook, “God Bless the USA”:  I think this has been her best performance yet (it was actually good), but I still think she might go home based on previous history.  At least with this song choice tonight, if it is her last one, she probably just scored herself a USO tour.  My aunt has done one or two of those.  (She sings better than Krisy Lee, imo.)  I agree with Simon when he says, “That was the most clever song choice I have heard in years.”  He called it a brilliant song, even though he’s a sour old Brit.  Kudos for song choice, Kristy Lee (Greenwood).

David Cook, “Billie Jean”: He did have a big head when he was a baby.  Poor kid.  At least he grew into his head.  He sang “Billie Jean,” not the Michael Jackson version, of course.  LOVED IT!  My favorite of the night.  I agree with Randy, he could win it all if he keeps this up. 

My top three: David Lee Cook, Michael Johns, Sayesha Mercado

My bottom three (based on tonight only): Jason Castro, Chikezie, David Archuleta (yeah, he can sing, but that performance was weird)

Who’s probably going home: I think Kristy Lee may have saved herself with “God Bless the USA,” that is unless America really does hold grudges.  It’s going to be interesting to see who does go home tomorrow.  I think it may be Chikezie.

                   

5 Responses to “American Idol: Songs from the Year You Were Born”

  1. George Carter Wednesday, March 26, 2008 at 3:09 am #

    I am going to limit myself to one sentence on each performer because I could go on all night. I don’t know what the deal is, but I saw it so much differently than you and the judges tonight. Oh dear…

    Ramiele: You’re not Heart or Carrie Underwood, so don’t try to sing that.

    Castro: I could barely hear him, but I love it when Ryan and the judges talk to him because he is so awkward and funny.

    Syesha: I love her, and I’m glad she FINALLY got some recognition tonight.

    Chikezie: I don’t know what he has to do to get good praise from the judges, but once again, I loved everything about it…but I don’t think America likes him as much as I do, and that makes me sad.

    Brooke White: I think I’m starting to come around with Brooke and like her a lot, and I was very happy that she parted her hair down the middle because I could see her entire face and she is so pretty.

    Michael Johns: I think he sucks, and why does he get to do two songs in one performance because that gives him an unfair advantage, and I don’t think he’s Mr. Awesome Queen Guy like everybody else does because he doesn’t even have the same vocal abilities as Freddy Mercury and also…Constantine Maroulis’s version of “Bohemian Rhapsody” puts Michael’s to shame…and I’m sick of Michael and I think he sucks…and yes, this was one sentence.

    The Irish Girl: It was great to see “Total Eclipse of the Heart” make its way to American Idol, and for that reason only, I loved it!

    David Archuleta: What the h was that song?

    Kristy Lee Cook: This might make me sound unpatriotic, but I’ve always kind of seen that song as one to make fun of because people love it so much and for me it’s a really corny song, but apparently I’ve been overruled by everyone because she got unbelievable praise in regards to this song choice even though I disagree and think it was a corny and stupid choice and made her look even more like an idiot, but that’s just me.

    David Cook: Fantastic.

    So yeah…I got a little fired up tonight because the judges didn’t like the same people I liked and they loved the people I didn’t like. It was weird. I voted for Syesha, Chikezie, Brooke, Carly, and David Cook.

    You mentioned Alaina Whitaker and it made me want to cry. I am in love with her.

    It’s going to be an interesting results show.

    I love it that you have this American Idol blog. Thank you so much.

    Take care, Laura!

  2. lianna davis Thursday, April 24, 2008 at 5:35 am #

    George Carter,

    you’re not simon. so don’t act like you are

  3. laura Thursday, April 24, 2008 at 7:43 am #

    No, George Carter is not Simon Cowell. He is way, way cooler than Simon.

  4. George Carter Thursday, April 24, 2008 at 11:40 am #

    haha

    Thank you, Lianna Davis. I’ll never give my opinion on my friend’s blog again.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chikezie Goes Home « God, Give Me Hills to Climb - Friday, March 28, 2008

    […] American Idol: Songs from the Year You Were Born […]

Leave a Reply

