American Idol: What’s the Irish Girl’s Name Again?

12 Mar

So, I didn’t get to watch American Idol until today because I did not get home until late last night. It was the first performance of the top 12, and of course, Idol went all out. First off, they opened the Lennon/McCartney songbook, which was the theme for the night. They are on the big stage with lots of crazy lights (Ryan took half the show demonstrating all this), and now not only can we download the songs on iTunes but we can also download the video performances. These people sure know how to milk a glorified karaoke contest for every penny it’s worth.

Last night’s top 3 performances, in my opinion:

  1. Carly Smithson, “Come Together”: She’s a born performer. Loved the song. Loved her.
  2. David Cook, “Eleanor Rigby”: Granted, he sounds a lot like so many other pop/rockers (i.e., Chris Daughtry), but I like that sound, and I like David Cook. He just edged out Michael Johns last night for me. And that whole pop/rock thing is really hot right now. All David needs is a little attitude to go along with his talent, and he’ll do alright.
  3. Brooke White, “Let It Be”: Loved the piano, loved the song, loved her. (Is it odd that my top 3 all performed one right after the other?) Sidenote: I would never hire her as a nanny. She’s way too pretty.

My bottom 3:

  1. Kristy Lee Cook, “Eight Days a Week”: First off, her country version of the song was not some big, new, never-done-before thing. Lorri Morgan covered the song in 1987. Kristy basically sang a bad cover of an okay cover of a really good Beatles song. Simon said she sounded like Dolly Parton on helium. That was funny.
  2. David Hernandez, “I Saw Her Standing There”: It was a little much for me, a little over the top. Bring back “Papa Was a Rolling Stone.” That was a lot better. Sidenote: I thought it was funny that when they were talking about the jobs that they had before coming to American Idol, he talked about working at pizza bistro and getting fired. He did not mention Dick’s Cabaret at all. And we all know about that. It was a little awkward. Ryan did mention that David had been having a stressful week. Wonder if Dick’s had anything to do with that?
  3. Ramiele Malubay, “In My Life”: Come on, Ramiele, you can do better. The song was pretty, but also pretty boring. She is a good singer, and I hope she sticks around another week. I’m pretty sure she will. She dedicated it to her close friends who have left the show already. We all know she was talking about my boy Danny. Aw, I miss him, but he’s probably singing his heart out on Rosie O’Donnell’s friends and family cruise. She loves him too.

Noteworthy moments:

  1. Chikezie breaking out the bluegrass. Loved it. It even made Ryan Seacrest run around on stage like a crazy person, which was fun to watch.
  2. The whole banter between Ryan and Simon about staying out of students’ rooms. Could Simon possibly be referring to Ryan’s rumored relationship with one of the Olly girls from Sunset Tan?
  3. Micheal Johns is a tennis instructor. I’ve been thinking about taking tennis lessons for some time now …
  4. David Archuleta, the golden boy, let us down. He forgot the lyrics to “We Can Work It Out.” He also proved that he’s a little awkward on stage when he’s not singing a ballad, at least he was last night.
  5. The Moment of Truth commercial that advertised “Watch as this family man crushes his loved ones.” Seriously? Is this what America calls entertainment these days, watching a real family, with real people, devastated on national television? Wow!

Who’s probably going home tonight: Kristy Lee Cook

As a sidenote, I heard Chris Sligh, from last season’s American Idol, on Christian radio the other day. I loved the song. He was one of my favorites last year. In my opinion, he left way too early. However, I’m glad he’s doing Christian music instead of American Idol now. You should check him out.

Related:
Danny on Ellen
David Archuleta’s Stage Dad

6 Responses to “American Idol: What’s the Irish Girl’s Name Again?”

  1. George Carter Wednesday, March 12, 2008 at 10:35 pm #

    Laura, this was by far my favorite American Idol post you have done yet. You actually gave me lots of new information I didn’t already know!

    I did not know that Lorrie Morgan covered “Eight Days A Week” in 1987! I went to iTunes and listened to a snippet of her version, and you are exactly right! Kristy just did a bad cover of an okay cover of that song! Excellent job!

    I felt the same way about David Hernandez describing his past job!

    My favorie performance of the night was Chikezie’s performance. That was incredible!

    I loved this post!

    P.S. Does Daniel know you want to take tennis lessons from Michael Johns? HAHA!

  2. laura Thursday, March 13, 2008 at 7:46 am #

    Omg, George! Me giving you new information, especially about country music, well that’s a big deal because you are a fountain of trivial knowledge. I admit, I had to look up the 1987, but I did know there was a country version of that song. And, no, I don’t think Daniel reads this, so he probably doesn’t know about that whole Michael Johns thing … he does know about me wanting to take tennis lessons, however.

  3. George Carter Monday, March 17, 2008 at 10:07 pm #

    Yes, that Lorrie Morgan song had managed to slip past me for all these years.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. American Idol: Farewell David Hernandez « God, Give Me Hills to Climb - Wednesday, March 12, 2008

    […] Related: Your Next American Idol Could Be a Male Stripper American Idol: What’s the Irish Girl’s Name Again? […]

  2. American Idol aka the 2-Hour Long iTunes Commercial « God, Give Me Hills to Climb - Wednesday, March 19, 2008

    […] Related: American Idol: What’s the Irish Girl’s Name Again? […]

  3. Amercan Idol: « God, Give Me Hills to Climb - Tuesday, April 1, 2008

    […] American Idol: What’s the Irish Girl’s Name Again? […]

Leave a comment