American Idol: Top 10 Girls

27 Feb

The top 10 girls were not as entertaining as the top 10 guys. Only a few of them really stood out. Plus, is it just me, or do all the blonds look alike (and also look like Carrie Underwood)? It’s really hard to tell them apart sometimes. I think they should do an American Idol makeover like they do on America’s Next Top Model, just so we can tell the blonds apart.

Phrase of the night: song choice

Carly Smithson sang first, and though she didn’t kill it tonight, she is still one of my favorite girls in the competition. I love her Irish accent, though, surprisingly, she sings with less of an accent than that homeless “British” kid from Tennessee or wherever. She makes me want to dye my hair black and get a tattoo. Seriously.

Syesha Mercado was also pretty good. I found it odd that she played a mom with a 4-year-old kid in a commercial when she is only 21 years old. What is it with America and the obsession with wanting to make grown women look like teenagers?

Brooke White, the beauty school dropout, did a great job with Carly Simon’s “You’re So Vain.” The best part of the song, though, was when Simon (and the other two judges) thought she was singing the song about him. Classic. He had no problem admitting it, either. He’s so vain.

Ramiele Malubay: I can’t help but like her. She and Danny Noriega could be Disney channel twins.

Kristy Lee Cook: I wanted to like her because she was so sweet and cute in the taped piece, but I just wasn’t feeling it. And then Simon told her she should go country … even though all the blonds on the show, including her, remind me of Carrie Underwood. I don’t know if that’s such a good idea. Do we need another Carrie Underwood? The one we have is already so good.

Amanda Overmyer is the nurse by day/rock chick by night that I’m really rooting for because she’s different. However, she didn’t do that well tonight with “Wayward Son,” and her hair and outfit were horrible. It kind of reminded me of Lily Munster. I hope she works it out and gets better. So many of the other girls are so much alike.

Alaina Whitaker: I don’t like my food to touch, either, so don’t feel bad. Simon called her the “dark horse” of the competition. She’s okay.

Alexandrea Lushington: BORING song, cute personality

Kady Malloy’s taped piece (that includes her opera in the bathroom) was also way better than her actual performance. I really like her, and I want her to stick around, but she was one of the night’s worst singers. Her Britney impersonation, however, is dead on. She does Britney Spears better than Britney Spears. If only she had come along 10 years ago. Alas, this “can’t see my babies, K-Fed, shaved head” drama might not be going on right now. But then again, you never know. Hollywood tends to do that to people.

Asia’h Epperson finished off the night with “All By Myself,” a definite power ballad. She did a good job with it. It wasn’t as good as David Archuleta’s “Imagine,” but it was one of the better performances of the night. I also loved how Fox had to use two apostrophes when they panned to “Asia’h’s Friends” in the audience.

Who’s probably going home: Alexandrea Lushington and Kady Malloy (even though I would love for her to stick around just for the impressions, or to possibly get a gig on Jay Leno like Kellie Pickler).

Leave a Reply

