P.S. I Don’t Really Like You

15 Feb

I just finished reading P.S. I Love You, all 470 pages of it.  I picked it up a couple of weeks ago because I was looking for a fairly light read.  I had heard the movie was pretty good, and since I didn’t think I would get a chance to watch the movie, I thought it would be a good idea to read the book.  It’s a story about a 30-year-old woman, Holly, who has lost her husband, Gerry, to cancer.  A couple months after his death, Holly receives a package of letters that he’s left for her, instructing her to perform a series of “unexpected” tasks.   

I can’t say that I really liked it.  It was readable, but that’s about it.  I found it annoying and predictable, not to mention saccharine and icky.  I should have known I wouldn’t like the book based on the back cover’s description: “With the help of the letters — and her fun, quick-witted girlfriends and a raucously endearing family that smothers, loves, and drives her crazy — Holly wobbles, weaves, and jokes her way toward a new life, even larger than the one that she’s been forced to leave behind.”  Ick!

Gerry’s final message to Holly says, “Don’t be afraid to fall in love again.  Open your heart and follow where it leads you … and remember, shoot for the moon.”  Shoot for the moon? 

And the ending just left that awful “artificial sweetener” taste in my mouth:

She was a woman with a million happy memories, who knew what it was like to experience more life, more love and make new memories.  Whether it happened in ten months or ten years, Holly would obey Gerry’s final message.  Whatever lay ahead, she knew she would open her heart and follow where it led her.

In the meantime, she would just live.  [THE END]

Can we be any more cheesy and cliche?  The whole book was just one big cheesy, “romantic” cliche.  On top of that, despite the novel’s length, it seriously lacked in the area of character development.  The characters seemed more like caricatures being dragged unwittingly into a series of unlikely events than real people living real life.  And we’re not even going to talk about the deus ex machina that is Daniel’s ex-girlfriend, Laura.  (Yes, there was a “Daniel and Laura” in this book that I didn’t like.)

My advice: don’t read it, unless you’re into saccharine-sweet, perfectly, annoyingly wrapped up, “romantic” novels with absolutely no literary value, whatsoever.  Oh, and can someone please whack me in the head the next time a try and buy a book that fits into that category, please?

3 Responses to “P.S. I Don’t Really Like You”

  1. nylusmilk Friday, February 15, 2008 at 7:20 pm #

    totally agree with you. i hated the book long before i finished it, but i kept on reading because there must be some good reason it’s so hyped up! i enjoy a good romance or chick lit, but i really don’t understand why people love this.

  2. Melissa Friday, February 15, 2008 at 9:24 pm #

    Perhaps the author wrote this novel with the prospects of a movie of it dancing in his mind, and so shaped it thus?

    If so, it shouldn’t be regarded as having any more literary merit than one of those countless novelizations of films.

  3. laura Monday, February 18, 2008 at 11:06 am #

    Good to know that I’m not alone in my disdain for this book. I felt the same way, kept reading, hoping the novel would redeem itself. I may still see the movie, though. I liked the movie “A Walk to Remember,” but hated the book.

Leave a Reply

