Drunk Driver?

13 Feb

A couple of days ago, I was standing in line at the gas station near my house, just trying to buy a Dr. Pepper.  I don’t keep them stocked in the house.  It’s less of a temptation if I actually have to make an effort to get one.  That’s beside the point. 

The guy in front of me was picking up a case of beer and a couple of lotto tickets.  When the cashier asked for his ID, he presented, not a driver’s license, but one of those government-issued photo IDs that you get when you don’t have a driver’s license, for example, because it was taken away after a DUI, or three. 

So there I was, standing behind a man who was not very well put together, who was fumbling and shaky, and who, for some reason did not present an actual driver’s license to buy beer.  And I was trying to decide whether or not I should take down his license plate number and call the highway patrol to let them know that there might be someone on the road who shouldn’t be driving. 

Well, I watched him walk to his truck, and luckily, he got into the passenger seat.  I still don’t know what I would have done if he had gotten into the driver’s seat.  I know I’m not supposed to judge, but I do understand alcoholics, and one thing about alcoholics is that they are pretty much always drunk, even when they aren’t drinking.  I don’t know for sure if that label applied to this man, but he exhibited many of the signs.  It’s hard to know when to step up and act and when to just live and let live.

 Is is ever okay to “judge” someone?  What would you have done in that situation?  What would you have done if he had gotten in the driver’s seat?   

Leave a Reply

