New Shoes, Same Problem

3 Oct

Yesterday was day two of The Couch to 5K Running Plan. It started off well — brand new shoes and plenty of enthusiasm. Neither of which held out very long. About half way into the run/walk, my calves were burning and I was finding it hard to breathe. I did, however, persevere and make it through. After the run, my running partner Kim and I even added in a little weight training and ab work. I felt good, not in too much pain, only to later discover that the blisters were back.

This leads me to the conclusion that the problem is most likely not in my shoes, but in my feet, or maybe in my form (I am an overpronator, after all). Or, I could just have really bad luck in picking out running shoes. Either way, I’m going to stick with the new shoes and try and tough it out. Maybe it won’t be too bad, and I’ll be running 5K’s in two months. That’s what the plan promises, anyway.

If any runners out there (or non-runners who just happen to know a bit about the subject) have any suggestions for fixing this problem, I would gladly accept them.

Leave a Reply

