Reflections on the Week Gone By

19 Nov

This has been a pretty rough past week and a half.  So many things have happened.  My great grandmother died last Friday, prompting a trip to MS for the second week in a row.  It was pretty exhausting.  I had never really seen her sick until two weeks ago when we visited her in the hospital and she was completely unresponsive.  It was really hard to see her like that.  She was 88 when she died, and had lived alone and worked part time until she was 87.  She was the woman I thought would never slow down.  I was at work when my mother called me to let me know she had passed away.  I left after only being there for an hour.  It was a really long weekend, and draining weekend.  I just hope I don’t have to go to a funeral again for a very long time.  It’s just been tough dealing with it all, especially on top of the new job and everything.  I have so much I need to do this week, and we are heading back to MS again for Thanksgiving.  I really want to go and spend time with family and all, but frankly, I am kind of tired of the drive.  Actually, I’m just plain tired. 

I don’t want to go on and on about all this bad stuff, so I think I’ll mention some good things that happened this week.

  • My friend Andrea took me to the YMCA and was my personal trainer for the day.  I think I’m going to join so that I can work out more because I really need it.
  • Emmitt Smith won Dancing with the Stars.
  • I got my first paycheck!  Yay!
  • I got to see the baby, my sister’s baby that is.  He’s a cutie!

 

4 Responses to “Reflections on the Week Gone By”

  1. kac7 Monday, November 20, 2006 at 12:53 pm #

    I’m sorry to hear about your grandmother…….But I’m glad that you can still rejoice in the midst of your suffering. Miss you.

  2. kac7 Tuesday, November 28, 2006 at 9:28 am #

    I got your voicemail that you left…………sorry, I lost my phone temporarily in the move…….so, I didn’t get your message right away!! I wish I had….it would have been nice to see you!!!

  3. splankna Monday, December 18, 2006 at 11:56 pm #

    What did i learn? That there are a lot of nice people in Mississippi but when issues of race and the past arise they all become apologetic and try to make excuses as if it were their fault, although they were not even there for it. Some people are still a little leery of speaking of racial issues. I also found that public pools are a dying breed. Club pools are the wave of the future.

  4. kac7 Tuesday, December 19, 2006 at 9:14 am #

    No, he’s not home yet…………….his car broke down in Texas. So, don’t know if it will be fixed before Christmas 😦

Leave a Reply

