Baby Showers

7 Jun

The baby shower went as well as can be expected.  It is always hard when you get too many members of my family in the same room..  Everyone gets along while they are in the same place, but as soon as they are dispersed, everyone starts talking about everyone else.  I have to admit, I join in sometimes.  I just find it really hard to get along with or agree with the behavior of certain members of my “family.”  I know this is weird to say, but I actually prefer to hang out with my in-laws than with my own family when extended family is included.  Just for clarification, I am not referring to my mom or my sister.  I love them.  They are great.  I just wish sometimes that we could only invite people to places that we want to be there, not because they are “family.”  That’s all I’m going to say about that.

My sister is such a cute pregnant lady.  She, at 8 months, still weighs less than I do.  She is a little shorter, but still.  She is doing her nursery in Noah’s ark, and she got a lot of cute stuff.  She’s having a little boy named Ty.   I’m excited about being an aunt, but I am not excited about all the “now it’s your turn” comments.  Please keep them to yourself, or don’t even think it at all.  I’m the oldest of seven kids, so I feel like I have been a mother all my life.  I still insist that I was the good child.  So, for those of you who may be wondering, Daniel and I aren’t planning on having children any time soon..  I’ll leave that one up to my sister.  She’ll be a good mom.

4 Responses to “Baby Showers”

  1. kac7 Wednesday, June 7, 2006 at 9:08 am #

    i’m glad the shower went well. i completely understand the family situation. totally. and the getting married & immediately making babies comments………that “i’m not as young as most brides…….” heheh…… i guess both our families can just stay disappointed. i think david and i need to live in the same state for a little while…….before we have kids….hehe. family, gotta love them.
    now that that’s through, i hope we can hang more. i feel so out of the loop the last 6 weeks that i’ve been out of commission.

  2. Anduril_Fury Wednesday, June 7, 2006 at 9:51 am #

    You didn’t lose me. I’m just simply doin’ what I gotta do to get my JD. If I could have gone somewhere else, I would have. Oh well.

  3. kiminchina Wednesday, June 7, 2006 at 11:15 am #

    No, it is not time for you to have kids yet!  I’m not ready to be an aunt.  Now, since the shower is over, I’m expecting a long email with the details of the last few weeks.  I miss my BFF!

  4. Anduril_Fury Thursday, June 8, 2006 at 3:57 pm #

    Yeah, I know you were pickin’. So was I. I know it can be hard to tell in writing. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

