Slut Is the New Black

13 May

I have a 13 year old little sister, and I like to keep tabs
on her, so I sometimes read some of her friends’ blogs.  One of her 16-year-old
friends actually posted this:  “Hey
everybody!  I like to suck HUGE cocks and
everything anyone puts in front of me!  Y’all
just know that!  Ne wayz!  I am short, skinny, and I LOVE guys!!!  Guys are awesome!”  I would like to
say that I was shocked by this, but I really wasn’t that shocked at all.  I
have been noticing this trend a lot among young girls over the past few
years.  Even though being a virgin has been looked down upon for some time
now, somewhere along the way, it actually became cool to be a slut and to
announce it to the entire world.  On top of that, girls are having sex at
younger and younger ages.

Although most people choose to pretend that this affects only a small minority
of girls, the issue is much larger than many of us would like to admit. 
Granted, not all teenage girls are shouting to the world that they like having
sex with different guys every night; however, they all live in a culture that
glamorizes sexual promiscuity.  Think about it.  Paris Hilton became instantly
famous after her sex tape was released.  Hundreds of women take off their
clothes for free just to be in a Girls Gone Wild video.  Add music videos, celebrity magazines, and
the new teen queen role models into the mix, and it’s no wonder that these
girls are announcing their slut status to the world.  After all everyone
else is.

Wouldn’t it be nice if we could just go back to the days when Britney Spears
was still a virgin, Lindsay Lohan was that cute little girl in the new Parent
Trap
movie, and Paris Hilton was just that hotel guy’s daughter?

2 Responses to “Slut Is the New Black”

  1. Anonymous Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 11:45 pm #

    I’m pretty sure Katherine Heigl will still be on the show. I’ve been reading for a while now that at the end of this season an intern would be leaving the program, but not the show…I’m assuming that’s about Izzy.

  2. Anonymous Sunday, May 28, 2006 at 12:42 am #

    yeah… totally feel ya on this last post of yours… and I’m sure that I’ll be battling the Sophie Shorts again this summer. Yes I’m doing M-Fuge (PCY-Roofing) and this is my second summer. I’m hoping its not my last, but who knows what I’ll be doing around this time next year. Guess I should try to grow up sometime

Leave a Reply

