29 Mar

My Easter was a little non-traditional, but it was still a blessed day.  I went to North Point Community Church for their 12:30 Easter service, which is about as non-traditional as you can get, even on Easter Sunday.  There were no brand new Easter dresses at this church, mind you.  Andy Stanley preached an awesome message.  I love Andy because he never assumes that his congregation has a basic Christian foundation.  He preaches as is he is preaching to people who are hearing the Gospel for the first time, yet he goes deep enough to challenge even the people who have been Christians for years.


He spoke about how the Resurrection is the foundation for Christianity and how that makes it different from any other religion out there.  He talked about how Christianity died when Jesus did since all of his followers scattered out and even denied knowing him.  If Christ would have stayed dead, there would be no Christianity.  But, He arose, and that is why we are able to experience the joy and freedom we do today, because we serve a God who is alive. 


Andy also provided a lot of compelling evidence in support of the Resurrection.  I would encourage anyone who wants to hear a good sermon or who wants a way to share the Easter story with unbelievers to purchase this sermon.  It will be well worth the effort.  Go to recent sermons and click on the 3/27-E-Day link.  That’s the sermon you want.  You can also purchase other of Andy’s or Louie’s sermons here.


 

2 Responses to “”

  1. kiminchina Wednesday, March 30, 2005 at 9:27 am #

    My Laura!!!
        I got your package of monkeys today!  Even before I read the card, I had to explain to my friend, Amy, about our keychains.  It was so funny when I read it in the card.  They have brought us all much amusement.  They will have a prized place among the many other stuffed animals I have received this year.  It did make my day, though.  I will have to take pictures with them and send them to you.  Have a good day.  I really miss you so much, and I am so ready to see you!!!
    Love you!

  2. Anonymous Wednesday, March 30, 2005 at 3:08 pm #

    being able to reach your entire audience with your message, or lesson and impact them with it is the greatest sign of a teacher, or preacher

Leave a Reply

