27 Feb

It is so great to be able to sleep past 11:00 and still get to church on time.  Why can’t all church services start at 12:30?  I’ve been trying to decide between Johnson’s Ferry Baptist Church and Northpoint Community Church.  So far, I’ve been bouncing between the two and haven’t really gotten involved in either.  Both have their pros and cons.  Northpint is closer and starts later, but it is so huge and impersonal.  JFerry is more intimate and is the type of church that I’m used to, but it’s a 30 minute drive.  I get to sleep in an extra hour when I go to Northpoint, which is a plus.  And Louie is preaching for two weeks next month, which is another plus.  Maybe I’ll stick with Northpoint for that.  The other factor that makes finding a church so hard is that I only go to church here about two Sundays a month.  I usually work one Sunday a month and am in Starkville about once a month, so it’s kind of hard to really get involved.  Maybe it’s not so bad to keep bouncing back and forth for now until I am at a more stable place in my life.  After all, I’m only going to be here for a few more months.  It took me almost two years to get involved with a church in Starkville. 


Question of the day:  Why is is so hard to find a church that feels like it’s where you belong?  Somebody please give me an answer. 

5 Responses to “”

  1. childofdestiny Sunday, February 27, 2005 at 5:23 pm #

    Laura, to tell you the truth, I’ve been goin to tha FBC all my life and I still don’t feel like I belong. Doyin

  2. Anonymous Sunday, February 27, 2005 at 7:21 pm #

    as creatures of habit we go where we are comfortable, we go where we know we can be accepted, where our roots are grounded, if its not our home church, its hard to be rooted in it.

  3. kiminchina Monday, February 28, 2005 at 7:04 pm #

    LAURA!!!  You need to watch your comments on others’ Xanga sites-yes, they do inform me, and I read them!!!

  4. waitingfor1day Monday, February 28, 2005 at 8:09 pm #

    love you 🙂 and yes, boyfriend 😉

  5. bublgumbabe08 Monday, March 7, 2005 at 5:56 pm #

    I have never really been to any church besides my own.   That is where I was raised and that is where i am currently a member.  But everyone in my church is old and stuck in a rut.  (sorry, but its the truth)  I mean, i love them b/c they are my church home, but I always find myself longing to try something new, be somewhere different.  Somewhere where there are ppl my age for crying out loud!  lol  I don’t know how to explain it, but I think I know how ya feel, Laura.
    ~kaslynn~

Leave a Reply

