18 Nov

My brother left this morning to go to camp Shelby.  From there, he will leave for Iraq in January where he’ll be for about one and a half years.  He does get about a week off to come home for Christmas before he is sent out.  I didn’t get to see him before he left for camp Shelby, but I am planning on coming home for about 2 weeks around Christmas time so I can hang out with my family.  I’m also travelling home for Thanksgiving, hopefully, even though my brother won’t be there.  I know it’s hard on my mom because he’s her baby, her youngest child.  I know she’d like to have us all home for the holidays.  I just pray that my bother returns home safely and that he only misses one Christmas with us.  I know his chances of dying in Iraq are not that greater than his chances of dying in Iraq, but if he’s going to die, I want him to die in America.  I just hope neither happens any time soon.  So, it’s kind of a sad time for my family right now.  It’s hard for me to deal with the fact that my baby brother isn’t going to be at my wedding.  I hope it’s not too sad then.  Keep my fam in your prayers, y’all.  There’s a lot more than just this going on.


much love,


laura

6 Responses to “”

  1. bublgumbabe08 Thursday, November 18, 2004 at 4:47 pm #

          I am so sorry, Laura… I hope your brother will be okay.  I’ve got two wise words for ya: 
         1)  To worry is human, but worry is like a rocking chair:  It gives you something to do, but gets you nowhere.  (We (did) have that poster hanging in our youth class.  It sure did serve as a great reminder!)  (Ya know me, I worry all the time, too) 
         2)  The hardest, and yet most wondeful thing to remember is that God IS in control of everything that has, is and is going to happen.  Sometimes God does things we don’t understand (boy don’t we all know that’s the truth!), but it is all part of His glorious plan for each and every one of us.  We have to rely on Him to help us deal.
    Phil 3:4
    -Kaslynn-

  2. bublgumbabe08 Thursday, November 18, 2004 at 4:50 pm #

    Whoops!
    Phil. 1:3-4  (hehehe…)

  3. redstarsoviet Thursday, November 18, 2004 at 5:21 pm #

    i have a list of soldiers that i’m praying for, and i want you to know that i’ll be praying for your brother too!

  4. kiminchina Friday, November 19, 2004 at 1:19 am #

    So I am officially the WORST best friend in the world.  I am going to call you this weekend, I PROMISE!  And you know you can call me ANY time at all, even if it is 3 AM here!
    I love you, and you know I am totally sympathizing with you!

  5. davidjorjani Saturday, November 20, 2004 at 8:22 pm #

    Hey Laura!

  6. whoisfromturkey Saturday, November 20, 2004 at 10:29 pm #

    Laura, I will add your brother to my list of servicement that I pray for, and I promise that I will be praying for both your brother and the rest of your family. I know this is a terribly hard time for you, but remember that your God is the most powerful and most merciful, and He will see you through. I love you.

Leave a Reply

