12 Oct

So, here’s the big news you have all been waiting for. . . Daniel and I are engaged!!!  He proposed to me Saturday night, and I said yes, of course.  It was a total suprise.  I was not expecting it at all.  To be honest, I was just coming to town because it was Homecoming, and I’m really glad I did.  Not so glad that I went to the game, however, because we lost.  How sad.


And for those of you who want details. . .


On Fri. night when I got to Starkville Daniel and I went out to dinner where we ran into Tricia Hopper (who was later afraid that she reuined our “special night” but still thought it would be fun to be included in “our story”).  After dinner, he gave me a Care Bear (because I have a small collection of them) with a small bag containign another small present tied around its neck.  I thought that it was very sweet of him to buy me a present for coming to see him.  The next morning before we went to the big game he gave me another bear with another present.  “He is just too sweet,” I thought, but still had no clue what he was planning.  I’m either plain clueless or just used to him giving me gifts.


On Saturday night, we went to dinner at Harvey’s and then we were going over to Ginny Haynes’ apartment for a little get-together she was having over there.  Well, when we left Harvey’s, Daniel said that he had to go back to his house to get his contact solution.  (btw, This was a lie)  When we got to his house, naturally I was just going to go in with him so I didn’t have to sit out in the car.  We got to the door and he told me to close my eyes.  Having no clue why, I protested, but finally gave in.  We walked into the house and he left to go get something, but I didn’t peek, I promise.  When I opened my eyes, there were candles lit all over the room and he was holding another Care Bear with a little bag tied around its neck.  Still having no clue, I proceeded to tell him that he needed to stop giving me stuff because it was making me feel bad because I never buy him anything.  I almost told him not to not to give it to me, but my better judgement took over.  I mean, who turns down a gift, definitely not me.


Well, I looked at the bear to see which one it was, and when I looked I saw an engagement ring monogrammed on its stomach.  And, I remember thinking “they don’t make Care Bears like these” before I even realized what was going on.  Then, as the realization of what was happening began to sink in, I looked into the gift bag and pulled out a small jewelry box.  He took the box out and got out the ring and then got on one knee.  He told me that he loved me and that he wanted to spend the rest of his life with me and asked me to marry him.  And I said yes, once I caught my breath.  Then I made him turn on the lights so I could see the ring.  And, WOW, it’s gorgeous.  Well, that’s the story, as much as I remember it anyway.  Everything was kind of a blur because he totally suprised me, which is kind of hard to do.  Can’t believe he pulled it off. 


Now, to answer all of your questions, the reason that I haven’t posted this story until now is that I wanted to spend as much time with my honey and our family and friends before I had to go back to ATL.  And I wanted to call my bff in China and tell her before she read it on the Internet.  (Kim, I’m glad I got to you in time)  I hope that’s good enough reason for you all.  Love you much.


Laura

9 Responses to “”

  1. Anonymous Wednesday, October 13, 2004 at 1:34 am #

    wow thats really sweet, congrats….boy am i depressed.

  2. laurajhitt Wednesday, October 13, 2004 at 4:33 pm #

    Caleb, why depressed? 

  3. Anonymous Wednesday, October 13, 2004 at 11:05 pm #

    well its like its happenening to people all around me…you know the engagement thing.

  4. Anonymous Thursday, October 14, 2004 at 2:16 am #

    i don’t understand how if i comment on a comment it takes my props away…so here u go (2 eprops)

  5. waitingfor1day Thursday, October 14, 2004 at 1:32 pm #

    laura i love you 🙂

  6. laurajhitt Thursday, October 14, 2004 at 3:48 pm #

    Cable, who knows, you may be next. 😉

  7. righthandwoman Thursday, October 14, 2004 at 10:02 pm #

    congrats from all of your drama girls

  8. Anonymous Wednesday, October 20, 2004 at 5:35 pm #

    congratulations! 

  9. OlaA30 Saturday, October 23, 2004 at 8:05 am #

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!! btw makes plans (if you haven’talready) to come to starkville FBC the first sunday after december 28th…that’s when i get back in the country…(ask around ab the whoe ‘get back in the country’ thang if you don’tknow) love ya ttyl bye

Leave a Reply

