This Year, I’m Not Making Resolutions

2 Jan

Every January, I make a list of the year’s resolutions. You know the type: be kinder, watch less TV, read more books, eat healthy, blog more (Ha!), exercise, be a better person, drink less soda, eat more veggies, blah, blah, blah.

These “resolutions” are well-intentioned, and I’m sure I’ve kept some of them. But there is no tangible way to keep track. Honestly, no matter how significant my desire to “be kinder” is, I’m never going to keep a running tally of every kind thing I do each day and mark it off against all the unkind things. Let’s get real, people, that would be counterproductive.

So this year instead of resolutions, I’m setting goals. Hard and fast, put ‘em on a to-to list and check them off goals. Here we go.

11 Goals for 2011 (Catchy, huh?)

  1. Run a 5k in under 30 minutes. I’ve recently started running again, and I’ve found that the only way for me to keep running is to continually set new goals. I recently completed the No Boundaries Beginner 5k training program with Fleet Feet here in Nashville. I finished our graduation race, the Jingle Bell Run in downtown Franklin, in 32 minutes. But I really wanted to break 30 – so I’m setting that as my goal for this year.
  2. Set a new 1/2 marathon PR. This one may be cheating a little since I have already signed up for a 1/2 marathon training program through Fleet Feet, but it’s my list and I can cheat if I want to. Barring injury, this goal shouldn’t be too hard to complete  considering  my last (and only) 1/2 marathon finishing time is around the 3:32 mark. I’m hoping for under 3 hours for this one. I’ll be running the Country Music 1/2 marathon in April. Wish me luck!
  3. Lose 11 lbs. In 2010, I lost 20 lbs. without setting a goal. Let’s see how I’ll do with a goal in 2011.
  4. Read 11 books. I think I’ll stick with the “11” theme for the next few goals. I always resolve to read more each year, but I’ve never kept track. Eleven books seems doable, especially since I used to read twice that many each semester when I was an English major in college. My first pick: The Time Traveler’s Wife.
  5. Write 11 letters/notes to 11 different people. Old-fashioned, handwritten, on stationery, sent in the mail letters. I love stationery, and I love getting real mail – as in, not bills – so maybe other people will like receiving them. It’s so quaint, so days-gone-by. I think it will be fun. I might even turn this into a separate little project.
  6. Meet 11 new people. I love meeting new people and hearing their stories, but I’m not exactly a small-talk person, so this one is often hard for me. Maybe setting this goal will give me the push that I need. And by meeting 11 new people, I don’t mean making 11 new BFFs. It just means that I talk to 11 people whom I have never spoken to before.  Actually talk to them beyond just exchanging names.
  7. Send out 11 writing queries or take on 11 freelance assignments, or a combination of the two. I think I’m finally ready to turn my writing dream into a reality. This one is the most daunting on the list.
  8. Organize my closet. It must be done! And I don’t mean just put things where they go; I do that already. I’m talking about a new organizational system installation complete overhaul.
  9. Finish my Centrifuge scrapbook. It’s been seven years since I worked summer camp. It’s about time I complete those last few pages and close the book on Fuge 2004.
  10. Take on the photo a day challenge. Not because I’m a photographer or anything, but because I like to document stuff. I think it will be neat. And I just got this really cool new Windows 7 phone that takes pretty good photos and lets me easily upload them to wherever.  This place will most likely be Twitpic. I already uploaded the photo for Jan. 1 here. These should also show up on my Twitter feed at the bottom of this blog.
  11. Visit a place I’ve never been to before. This could be a new city or maybe a touristy place in Nashville that I’ve never been to. But it has to be significant, not something like the Kroger on Nolensville. That would be lame.

Okay, so that’s my list. Here’s to an unresolved, but goal-oriented 2011.

Related Posts:

6 Responses to “This Year, I’m Not Making Resolutions”

  1. Chad Ray Monday, January 3, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

    Very much like this. I don’t make resolutions either. I make goals. Last year though I don’t remember what they were. I have a few in my head but I think if I wrote them it’d be easier to keep up, like blog more, do something adventurous, just basically get off the couch and live life.

    If you need help with the Fuge Scrapbook, let me know. I have 2-3 that I want to finish too but haven’t gotten around to it.

  2. LJ Wednesday, January 5, 2011 at 12:17 am #

    Yes. Write them down. It helps. :-)

    • David Moore Monday, January 10, 2011 at 11:24 am #

      Time Traveler’s Wife is a good first pick. If you haven’t read “A Prayer For Owen Meany,” I think you must. It’s my all-time favorite, and I love hearing what other people think about it.

  3. LJ Monday, January 10, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    Loving Time Traveler’s Wife so far. I’ll have to check out Owen Meany. Oh, and feel free to send along any other book suggestions!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 30 Before 30: Cinema Edition « In the Bleak December - Thursday, January 13, 2011

    […] a 30 before 30 list. However, since I have less than a year to do this and since I just started an 11 for 2011 list on January 1, I think I’m going to forgo the traditional skydiving, bungee-jumping, climb Mt. […]

  2. I Am a Runner (But I Sometimes Take Walk Breaks) « In the Bleak December - Tuesday, March 8, 2011

    […] I’ve mentioned before, I’ve been training for the Country Music 1/2 Marathon with a group of about 500 runners and […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

